Harley Davidson Models

  • Facts and Information about Harley Davidson Models
  • Useful guide to Harley Davidson products and merchandise
  • Products loved by both men and women including Harley Davidson Models!
  • Find out about the huge range of products for fans of these cool motor cycles
  • Facts and Information about the most famous motor cycles in the world!

Harley Davidson Models – 5 Main Families
There have been lots of Harley Davidson models and variations over the years but they can generally be separated into five families or ranges. Below describes an overview of each of the models and their defining characteristics; however for more detail you could visit the individual pages within this site. As there have been hundreds of Harley Davidson models over the past 100 odd years, this page is a general reference to the Sportster, the Softail, Touring models, Revolution models and Dyna models. Our high definition video shows a range of different Harley Davidson models!

Harley Davidson Models – The Sportster Range
Harley Davidson Sportster models were initially introduced in 1957 and are still in production today (and very popular), making them the longest standing Harley Davidson range. They can be identified by the letters XL and XR (eg XL883R and XR1200). Throughout the last fifty-odd years Harley Davidson Sportster models have been transformed and improved to appeal to the ever evolving market. The very first Harley Davidson Sportster models inherited numerous elements of the Harley Davidson K series and these were used for racing in the 1960s and 1970s. Sportster models are lighter and sportier than most other Harley Davidson’s. These models now come with a rubber mounted engine for less vibration, a fuel injection system, a low seat and are designed for riding, not touring long distances.

Harley Davidson Models – The Softail Range
Harley Davidson Softail models were initially introduced in 1984 (FXST) and earn their name due to the shock absorbers or springs they have as rear suspension. As Harley Davidson didn’t want the softail models to appear any different to the hardtail choppers which were famous during the 1960’s the rear suspension is hidden out of sight. The softail models are therefore more comfy than those Harley Davidson models that are rigid. Softail models include the Custom, Standard, Springer, Deuce, Fat Boy, Deluxe and Night Train and can be identified by the letters FXS and FLS (eg FXSTB and the FLSTN).

Harley Davidson Models – The Touring Range
Harley Davidson touring models were initially introduced in 1980 (Shovelhead) and are designed for longer journeys (ie ‘touring’). These Harley Davidson models are big bikes with huge presence and are renowned for being smooth, comfortable and luxurious to ride. The touring models are also known as ‘dressers’ (not sure if this is due to their size or the amount of accessories they come with!) and can be identified by the letters FL (eg FLTR and FLHR). Within the Harley Davidson touring range are 3 Road King models and various Electra Glide models. The frames used on these models were consistent from 1980 through to 2009 when the frame was altered, changing the position of the steering head. The Harley Davidson touring models are used by several state troopers and police departments. Some of the accessories you can get with these models include saddlebags, windshields, parcel racks, back rests and sissy bars.

Harley Davidson Models – The Revolution Range

Harley Davidson Revolution models were initially introduced in 2001 and can be identified by the letters VRSC and VRXSE. The Harley Davidson Revolution models have the revolution engine (represented by the VR). The street models within the revolution range are referred to as Street Custom (represented by the SC). Street Custom models have an additional letter for specific identification, such as A for Base V Rod, AW for Bade V Rod Wide, D for Night Rod, R for Street Rod, X for Special Edition and SE / SEII for the CVO special editions. The VRXSE represents special edition (CVO) Harley Davidson Destroyer drag models. Revolution models were built with fuel injection and liquid cooling.

Harley Davidson Models – The Dyna Range
Harley Davidson Dyna models were initially introduced in 1991 (FXDB Sturgis) and the Dyna range is identified by the letters FXD. The F represents the big twin engine, the X represents the small diameter telescopic forks and the D represents the Dyna chassis. A coil cover suspension connects the swing-arm to the frame on Harley Davidson Dyna models and from 2006 onwards they were also given a six speed cruise transmission and reformed frame. There were five new Dyna models in 2006 – Super Glide, Custom, Low Rider, Street Bob and Wide Glide and in 2008 the Dyna Fat Bob was released (which boasts twin headlamps and a 2-1-2 exhaust). Harley Davidson Dyna models currently include a rubbed mounted twin cam engine, exposed rear suspension and exposed battery.

Harley Davidson Models – A Useful Guide
Thousands of people search to find out about these iconic bikes and their accessories. Even the logo, or emblem is iconic. We hope that you have found this article on Harley Davidson Models a useful guide to Harley Davidson products and merchandise. You will find that this website is a great resource, including this article on Harley Davidson Models, whether you are looking to buy, sell or even rent a Harley Davidson motor cycle or purchase some products and accessories. Both men and women love this brand and the associated accessories. Common misspellings and unusual references include Herley, Horley, Hurley, Davidsan, Davidsons, Harleydavidson, Harly, Davison and of course Harleys. Harleys are simply the best motor cycles whatever they are called.

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Harley Davidson Motor Cycles Info
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: